Solar Eclipse 2021 Live Updates: Annular Solar Eclipse now visible Solar Eclipse (Surya Grahan) 2021 Date, Timings Today Live Updates: The annular solar eclipse will happen when the moon will block the sunlight and cast a shadow over Earth. Solar Eclipse 2021 Today Live Updates: The first solar eclipse of this year will appear today starting at 1.42 pm, but it will not be visible in India. So, get ready to witness the ‘Ring of Fire’ as it will also be partially visible from some parts of India. Those who are based in Ladakh and Arunachal Pradesh will be able to see this rare astronomical phenomenon. They will start witnessing the solar eclipse at 12:25, as per the map published by NASA. The annular solar eclipse will happen when the moon will block the sunlight and cast a shadow over Earth. The 2021 annular solar eclipse event will take place at 01:42 PM (IST) and will last until 6.41 pm IST in most of the areas. The duration of this solar eclipse at Greatest Eclipse is said to be around 3 minute and 51 seconds. The "ring of fire" solar eclipse is coming up Thursday (June 10) and here's when you can watch it. The eclipse will be visible will be partially visible from the United States, northern Canada, Europe, northern Asia, Russia and Greenland, according to Time and Date. You can also watch it live online with several live webcasts, and if you live in any of the areas where it's visible and it's safe to travel, you can look at it outside — just make sure to wear proper eye protection. Solar eclipses happen when the moon passes in front of the sun, from the viewpoint of our planet. Total solar eclipses — which are relatively rare — happen when the moon covers the entire sun; the moon's orbit is tilted with respect to the sun and doesn't always perfectly align. A "ring of fire" or annular eclipse happens when the moon is near its farthest point from Earth during an eclipse, so the moon appears smaller than the sun in the sky and doesn't block the whole solar disk. The first locations where you can see the partial phase of eclipse — where the moon takes a "bite" out of the sun — will happen at 4:12 a.m. EDT (0812 GMT); local time will vary depending on where you are situated. You can see a partial eclipse if you are living north and east of a line running roughly from Edmonton, Alberta, to Des Moines, Iowa, down through Savannah, Georgia. The annular eclipse will start being visible in those northerly regions fortunate enough to see it at 5:49 a.m. EDT (0949 GMT), according to Time and Date. The maximum eclipse will happen at 6:41 a.m. EDT (1041 GMT) in the north polar region, where the annular phase will last roughly 3 minutes and 51 seconds.